Skip to content university of illinois at urbana-champaign

School of Labor and Employment Relations University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Advisory Board

The Labor Education Advisory Board (LEAB) is a partnership between the Labor Education Program and the Illinois AFL-CIO.

Formed in 2011, the board comprises union leaders from Illinois and the Midwest, and faculty from the Labor Education Program. The purpose of the board is to form a collaborative partnership between the university and labor organizations to address the economic issues of working people in the state of Illinois.

The partnership created through this advisory board strengthens the ability of the Labor Education Program to meet the needs of union members and other workers in the region, and affirms the strong commitment labor leaders have to providing quality education opportunities to their membership.

Professor Robert Bruno and President Michael Carrigan of the Illinois AFL-CIO serve as co chairs of the Labor Education Advisory Board.  The Labor Education Advisory Board meets on a biannual basis.

LEAB Members

Robert Bruno – Co-Chair Director, Labor Education Program
Michael Carrigan – Co-Chair President, Illinois AFL-CIO
Ralph Affrunti President, Chicago Building Trades
Tom Balanoff President, SEIU Local 1
James P. Connolly Business Manager, Chicago Laborers’ District Council
Jeff Crabtree Business Agent Teamsters Local 916
Pat Devaney President, Associated Fire Fighters Illinois
Clint Drury Executive Director, West Central IL Bldg. & Const. Trades Council
Donald Finn Business Manager, IBEW Local 134
Ken Franklin President, ATU Local 308
Kathy Griffin President, Illinois Education Association
Bob Gunter President, Illinois Postal Workers Union
Robert Guy State Director, Illinois UTU
Terrance Hancock President, TEAMSTERS Joint Council 25
Alice Johnson Executive Director, Illinois Nurses  Association
Mack Julion President, NACL Branch 11
Keith Kelleher President, SEIU Healthcare
Karen Kent President, UNITE HERE Local 1
Matt Kelly Champaign County CLC President
Frank Libby President, Chicago Regional Council of Carpenters
Roberta Lynch Executive Director, AFSCME Council 31
Mike Macellaio President, Illinois Prevailing Wage Council
Ron McInroy Director, UAW Region 4
Michael Millsap Director, USW District 7
Dan Montgomery President, Illinois Federation of Teachers
Kevin Morrissey Business Manager, Pipefitters Local 597
John Penn Vice President and Midwest Regional Manager, LIUNA
Ron Powell President, Local 881 UFCW
Jorge Ramirez President, Chicago Federation of Labor
Carl Rosen President, UE District 11
David Ruhmkorff International Vice President, IBEW Sixth District
James Sweeney President and Business Manager, Operating Engineers Local 150