Congratulations to Will Murphy, MHRIR 12, on being named the the School’s 2022 recipient of the First Decade Achievement Award. This award recognizes those who have made an extraordinary impact in their organization(s) within their first 10 years of graduating. This includes community service, career advancement, academic achievement, or service to the School.

Will will be honored at a dinner and reception at the Alice Campbell Alumni Center on Thursday, September 8. At the same ceremony, we will be awarding the 2022 Distinguished Alumni Award to Dan Spaulding, MHRIR 00. All are welcome and may RSVP through the event site for the 75th anniversary weekend at

Will is the Head of Diversity, Inclusion & Belonging for Amgen’s global R&D organization of over 4500 global employees where his team’s efforts are intently focused on fostering a culture of belonging where diversity is celebrated, and inclusion is the norm. He is also the Strategic Planning & Operations Liaison for Amgen’s Representation in Clinical Research within the Global Medical Organization, where he supports a team dedicated to improving the global diversity and proportional representation of patients from historically excluded groups in Amgen’s clinical research programs.

He has been at Amgen for a cumulative five years between two separate stints at the organization. His previous roles at Amgen included leading HR at Amgen’s R&D innovation centers, including San Francisco, Vancouver, and Shanghai, serving as the People, Org and Change Management Lead to Amgen’s $2.7B alliance deal with a Chinese biotech startup, leading the COVID-19 response team in the United States, and co-leading the transformation of Amgen’s workplace model from in office to globally hybrid.

Will’s previous 10 years of experience have resulted in an accomplished career in a variety of leadership roles in HR, Strategy, and Operations, including at AbbVie, Netflix, and two Software as a Service technology startups. He also co-founded and led a boutique HR consulting startup as Chief Operating Officer.